Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Form Button with Javascript  (Read 9895 times)

gailwilk59

Form Button with Javascript
« on: October 30, 2018, 07:51:41 AM »

I have created a form template that needs to be flattened, saved and emailed.  At the bottom I inserted a form button to do this, assigned an action (mouse down) and inserted the script.  However, the button changes briefly when pressed, but it does not appear to run the javascript.  The same script works fine when assigned an icon and placed on the toolbar.  I've never used the "button" before or the javascript feature.  And, yes, I have JavaScript enabled in my preferences. Any ideas?
The script is as follows:

Flatten(false,65536)
SaveAs("pdf")
Email()

Steve

• Administrator
    • RevuHelp
Re: Form Button with Javascript
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 08:34:54 AM »

I'm not a JS person at all, but pulling waaaaayyyy back from my HyperCard programming days, you almost always wanted buttons to act on the MOUSE UP command.  Not MOUSE DOWN.   What happens if you switch to on MOUSE UP?
Steve Jones
RevuHelp Forum Admin
steve@revuhelp.com
www.revuhelp.com
www.facebook.com/RevuHelp

gailwilk59

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2018, 08:11:29 AM »

Same result. :(

Maxime.Vezeau

« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2018, 04:57:33 PM »

I have created a form template that needs to be flattened, saved and emailed.  At the bottom I inserted a form button to do this, assigned an action (mouse down) and inserted the script.  However, the button changes briefly when pressed, but it does not appear to run the javascript.  The same script works fine when assigned an icon and placed on the toolbar.  I've never used the "button" before or the javascript feature.  And, yes, I have JavaScript enabled in my preferences. Any ideas?
The script is as follows:

Flatten(false,65536)
SaveAs("pdf")
Email()